Left vs Right

This is a pumped-up infographic from a book on infographics.

2009-10-25_214332
Hawks v. Doves

It’s funny reading this, it has the sense of being true, yet you know it must be untrue at the same time. Hello, cognitive dissonance.

Even the graphic’s author (though not designer) sounds torn:

“Of course, the political spectrum is not quite so polarised. Actually, it’s more of a diamond shape, apparently. But this is how it’s mostly presented via the media – left wing vs. right wing, liberal vs. conservative, Labour vs Tory. And perhaps in our minds too…

“Well, certainly in my mind. Researching this showed me that, despite my inevitable journalistic lean to the ‘left’, I am actually a bit more ‘right’ than I suspected.

“This kind of visual approach to mapping concepts really excites me. I like the way it coaxes me to entertain two apparently contradictory value systems at the same time. Or, in other words, I like the way it f**ks with my head.”

So, well, it may or may not be a good cheat sheet for the two dominant American political ideologies, but it sure is neat.

From informationisbeautiful.net

Via rockpapershotgun.com

