The Black Heart – free, blood-soaked 2D fighter

Download The Black Heart here.

Schlick!

It’s a simple fighter game with over-the-top combos. I used to like fighter games, when they were this simple. There was a brief period in the nineties where there was something of a blood splatter arms race between fighting games. I miss those times, because I am old, and because they were good times.

"Winners Don't Use Drugs"

The fighters look like they were drawn in MSPaint, but they animate quite well. The style is a weird mix of Asian and American horror, heavy on the Asian, but not too derivative. Then again, what do I know?

It’s well past midnight, the heater’s been on too long, and this game is kind of making me feel weird. I have to say, though, I really like Animus. He just seems like he’s having such a good time.

Looks like someone found the LeMarchand configuration.

The game supports your typical fight-the-ladder Story Mode and VS., but also an intriguing co-op survival mode, in which you and a friend try to last as long as possible against constant fighting. I haven’t tried it yet, but it should keep my interest a bit longer.

Random blades shooting out of the floor is a fairly common occurrence.
One thought on “The Black Heart – free, blood-soaked 2D fighter

Comments are closed.