A Few IL-2 Shots (New 4.09m patch plus HSX update)

Here are a few shots from IL-2 I took yesterday. The 4.09 patch adds some new aircraft and three or four new maps. Nice. If I’m not mistaken, there’s also a pretty nice new feature in the radio menu: you can now radio for refuel, repair, and reloading of ammo. Does this mean once you run out of ammo, you can go home, pack it up, then go back out into the fight?

The new HSX update is a massive improvement over the AAA package. Mods are compressed, so now the whole thing loads a lot faster. The sounds are really improved. I could hear a lot more detail in what my P-51 engine was doing, whether I was flying level, making tight turns, or pushing past 100% throttle. The sounds are a lot crunchier now, a lot less generic. I noticed that when I let my landing gear down, I actually heard a lot of bass, like something was actually opening up right below me instead of thirty feet away. Lots of nice little touches.

There’s also a significant upgrade in the visuals if you can handle them, esp. with land graphics. Depending on how anal flight sim types are (and they are an anal bunch indeed), there are probably numerous modifications I will never notice.

A few pictures. (Click for full.)

I'm still a crap gunner, but a quick flop on my back at the last moment clipped the rudder and left elevator off of my opponent here (set to rookie, of course).
When I'm not playing with friends, I can take my time landing and usually survive. I still overshoot the runway most of the time, though.

6 thoughts on “A Few IL-2 Shots (New 4.09m patch plus HSX update)

  1. I am 70 and really enjoy flying. Ihave original versions of Il2 and Pf. I have down loaded lots of patches for both and manage to get a few of them working. Can someone out there give me instruction on which order for the patch installations. Basically I would like more maps and aircraft to fly.

    Also it seems that the two products can be merged?

    If so how? HELP PLEASE

  2. Hi there are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up
    my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments are closed.