My Kobo e-Reader is Suddenly Useful

Archaic monster that I am, I prefer paper books, and I’ll spare you the whys. I also have an e-reader. It is a small and entirely outdated Kobo Mini. Here it is:

Kobo Mini with 5
Kobo Mini with 5″ screen

It’s got a small screen, has no light, it’s slow, has only 2GB of memory, an e-ink screen two generations behind the times, and it’s not a Kindle. It’s perfect. Again, I’ll spare you the whys, except to say that it serves my basic needs and addresses a few dislikes I have for the Kindle. And it fits in my back pocket in a pinch.

Speaking of which, this is the logo for Pocket:

2015-05-19 21_09_34-Pocket _ Pocket for Web
Hi, I’m Pocket! My name ensures that I’m impossible to search for on the web!

Pocket showed up after I picked up my Kobo and updated it for the first time in a year.

Normally, I don’t like things I didn’t ask for being pushed on my personal devices, as they nearly always benefit the corporate bottom line more than they do me. But this thing’s a gem.

Pocket syncs articles to my Kobo so I can read them offline. Crucially, it doesn’t do anything else.

This is simple and wonderful. I hate reading long articles on my phone or PC, and browsing the Internet on an e-reader stinks. I usually have twenty tabs eternally open on my PC’s browser, articles I generally struggle to finish reading.

Now, I just click a thing and next time I turn on my Kobo, there it is. Stripped of ads and other nonsense, to boot. Man, that’s useful. I know what’s going with me on those Sundays at the coffee shop.

Newest Kobo firmware uses tiles, the center one there takes you to Pocket.
Newest Kobo firmware uses tiles, the center one there takes you to Pocket.

Pocket works on other devices, as well as just a plain old web browser. And I’m sure Amazon packs something similar on their e-ink Kindles, why wouldn’t they? (Hint: because it won’t funnel you into their storefront, and doesn’t produce profitable enough user-tracking data for them to implement it.)

Pocket is available here.

